Parameters for image-map-2:{}
University of New Haven logo
Parameters for article:{}

Marna Borgstrom, Yale Health System CEO, Speaks at UNH Commencement

Release Date:
1/13/2014 12:00 AM

Honorary Degrees Will be Awarded to Borgstrom, William Chowanec, Gordon Edelstein

January 13, 2014

Marna Borgstrom, features, winter commencement Marna P. Borgstrom

WEST HAVEN, CONN. -- Marna P. Borgstrom, president and chief executive officer of the Yale New Haven Health System and Yale-New Haven Hospital, will speak at the Saturday, Jan. 18, Winter Commencement at the University of New Haven.

The University will award 235 graduate degrees and 178 undergraduate degrees at the ceremony at the David A. Beckerman Recreation Center at the university’s main campus, 300 Boston Post Road, West Haven, at 2 p.m.

Bergstrom has held both CEO positions since 2005 and has also served in other senior management positions including executive vice president and chief operating officer.  She oversees a health system that includes Bridgeport and Greenwich Hospitals and an independent physician foundation. Yale New Haven Health System employs more than 19,000 people in Connecticut.

Under her leadership, Yale-New Haven opened the state-of-the-art Smilow Cancer Hospital and acquired the Hospital of Saint Raphael. Many of Yale-New Haven’s programs have consistently been ranked among the best in the country by U.S. News & World Report.

In 2013, Bergstrom was named one of the Top 25 Women in Healthcare by Modern Healthcare magazine. She will receive an honorary doctor of business administration degree at the ceremony.

Honorary degrees will also be awarded to:

 Bill Chowanec, features, winter commencement William J. Chowanec

William J. Chowanec, who received a bachelor’s degree in industrial management from UNH in 1970.  A member of the UNH Board of Governors, Chowanec will receive an honorary doctor of business administration degree.  He is an entrepreneur and business executive with more than 35 years of expertise in the manufacturing industry. In 2010, he retired as president of Young & Company, an independent manufacturers’ representative of electric power products and related engineering services.  A longtime supporter of his alma mater, Chowanec also is a recipient of the university’s Distinguished Alumni Award. In 2008, Chowanec and his wife, Carolyn, established the Margaret E. Healy Endowed Scholarship Fund at the university in honor of Carolyn’s mother, an ardent supporter of education.

Gordon Edelstein, features, winter commencement Gordon Edelstein

Gordon Edelstein, who will receive an honorary doctor of humane letters degree. Edelstein is in his twelfth season as artistic director of Long Wharf Theatre and has directed more than 100 plays, musicals and operas across the U.S. and Europe. Edelstein has won three Connecticut Critics Circle Awards. 

The University of New Haven is a private, top-tier comprehensive institution recognized as a national leader in experiential education. Founded in 1920 on the campus of Yale University in cooperation with Northeastern University, UNH moved to its current West Haven campus in 1960. The University operates a satellite campus in Tuscany, Italy, and a graduate business campus in Orange, Conn. and offers programs at several locations throughout Connecticut and in New Mexico. UNH provides its students with a unique combination of a solid liberal arts education and real-world, hands-on career and research opportunities. The University enrolls approximately 6,400 students, including nearly 1,800 graduate students and more than 4,600 undergraduates – the majority of whom reside in University housing. Through its College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice and Forensic Sciences, Tagliatela College of Engineering, and College of Lifelong & eLearning, UNH offers 75 undergraduate and graduate degree programs. UNH students have access to more than 50 study abroad programs worldwide, and its student-athletes compete in 16 varsity sports in the NCAA Division II’s highly competitive Northeast-10 Conference.