Academic Calendar and Course Schedules

Prospective students and parents can browse these schedules to get an idea of the courses that are available in upcoming semesters.

Current students, faculty and staff can see more details about the registration process, including dates and links to various systems, on the Registration page in myCharger. Final exam schedules are also listed in myCharger.

Course Schedules

*Students should plan to be available during listed class times/days for synchronous learning (classes are coded REMTE). Classes with no time listed are asynchronous, fully online, and coded ONLN. Due to social distancing requirements, some courses will be offered in Hybrid or Flex formats. Online learning may occur at any time, depending on how the University may determine classes are best taught under any circumstance. All courses, including selected labs, practicals, project-based, and clinical courses may require limited, additional meeting times to accommodate accreditation, regulatory, and similar requirements and students will be advised about this at the beginning of those classes.*

Course Modality Definitions
Courses are available in a variety of different modalities (delivery formats), as defined below. Students can see a course’s specific modality in Self-Service Banner (SSB), by using the “Look Up Classes” function.

  • Hybrid: Students attend in-person for half of the scheduled course time and the other half of the class content is available online. Students are only required to attend in-person on their designated day(s) and students do not attend classes virtually.
  • Online asynchronous (ONLI): Fully online asynchronous course with no live, required class sessions.
  • Remote synchronous (ONLI with specific meeting time): Fully online synchronous course. Students attend virtually at the assigned class time.
  • Flex: Half of the students attend each class session in-person and the other half attends virtually at the same time.
  • On-Ground: Fully on-ground course with every student meeting in-person.
  • Clinical/Laboratory: Practical courses that have an on-ground required component.
Graduate (course numbers = 6000-7000) Undergraduate (course numbers = 1000-5000)

Fall 2020 Graduate

Full Course Schedule | Online Courses

Fall 2020 Undergraduate

Full Course Schedule | Honors Courses | Online Courses

Intersession 2020-21

Full Course Schedule (Graduate and Undergraduate combined)

Intersession 2020-21

Full Course Schedule (Graduate and Undergraduate combined)

Spring 2021 Graduate

Full Course Schedule | Online Courses

Spring 2021 Undergraduate

Full Course Schedule | Honors Courses | Online Courses

Academic Calendar, 2020-2021

Please note: Due to the ongoing global pandemic, dates listed below are subject to change. Please check our coronavirus information page regularly for updates about the fall 2020 semester and our phased plan for return to campus.

  • Fall 2020 - Full Semester Calendar
    August
    Event Date
    Early Arrival Groups Move-In TBD - group leader will contact you directly
    New Student Move-In August 19, 20 (RSVP through myHousing)
    Returning Student Move-In August 18, 20, 21 (RSVP through myHousing)
    Term Start - Classes Start with Flexible Attendance Monday, August 24
    Registration Week of August 24 (exact dates TBA)
    September
    Event Date
    Open Drop/Add Deadline Tuesday, September 1
    Labor Day (Classes WILL meet) Monday, September 7
    October
    Event Date
    Classes WILL meet (previously was Fall Break) Monday-Tuesday, October 12-13
    Midterm Grades Due Tuesday, October 13
    November
    Event Date
    Graduation Application Deadline - May 2021 Commencement Saturday, November 14
    Residence Halls Close Wednesday, November 25, 12:00 p.m.
    Thanksgiving Break Wednesday, November 25 - Tuesday, December 1
    December
    Event Date
    Instruction Resumes - Online Wednesday, December 2
    Reading Days (No Classes) Monday-Tuesday, December 7-8
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Tuesday, December 8
    Pass/Fail Grade Option Deadline Tuesday, December 8
    Exams December 9-16
    Winter 2020 Commencement Cancelled
    Spring 2020 Commencement Cancelled
    End Term Wednesday, December 16
    Grades Due Saturday, December 19
    January
    Event Date
    Administrative Graduation Friday, January 15
  • Fall I 2020 (Accelerated Term)
    August
    Event Date
    Term Start - Classes Start with Flexible Attendance Monday, August 24
    September
    Event Date
    Open Drop/Add Deadline Tuesday, September 1
    Labor Day (Classes WILL meet) Monday, September 7
    Midterm Grades Due Tuesday, September 15
    October
    Event Date
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Monday, October 12
    Pass/Fail Grade Option Deadline Monday, October 12
    Classes WILL meet (previously was Fall Break) Monday-Tuesday, October 12-13
    Exams Tuesday, October 13 - Wednesday, October 14
    End Term Wednesday, October 14
    Grades Due Monday, October 19
  • Fall II 2020 (Accelerated Term)
    October
    Event Date
    Term Start - Classes Start Friday, October 16
    Open Drop/Add deadline Friday, October 23
    November
    Event Date
    Midterm Grades Due Wednesday, November 11
    Residence Halls Close Wednesday, November 25, 12:00 p.m.
    Thanksgiving Break Wednesday, November 25 - Tuesday, December 1
    December
    Event Date
    Instruction Resumes - Online Wednesday, December 2
    Reading Days (no classes) Monday, December 7 - Tuesday, December 8
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Tuesday, December 8
    Pass/Fail Grade Option Deadline Tuesday, December 8
    Exams Wedesday, December 9 - Wednesday, December 16
    End Term Wednesday, December 16
    Grades Due Saturday, December 19
  • Intersession 2021 - Special Programs Only
    December
    Event Date
    Begin Program Thursday, December 17
    Open Drop/Add Deadline Thursday, December 24
    Christmas Day (no classes) Friday, December 25
    New Year's Eve Thursday, December 31
    January
    Event Date
    New Year's Day (No Classes, Offices Closed) Friday, January 1
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Monday, January 4
    End Program Saturday, January 16
    Grades Due Thursday, January 21
  • Spring 2021 - Full Semester Calendar
    January
    Event Date
    New and Returning Students from Affected ("Red") States Move-In (Begin 14-day travel advisory quarantine on campus) Sunday, January 17
    Martin Luther King Day (No Classes) Monday, January 18
    New Student Orientation/Registration Tuesday, January 19
    Term Start Wednesday, January 20
    Online Classes Begin for All Students Wednesday, January 20
    Open Drop/Add Deadline Wednesday, January 27
    New and Returning Students from Non-Affected ("Green") States Move-In Sunday, January 31
    February
    Event Date
    On-Ground Classes Begin Wednesday, February 3
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Thursday, February 18
    March
    Event Date
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Tuesday, March 9
    Midterm Grades Due Wednesday, March 10
    CLASSES WILL MEET - No Spring Break Sunday, March 14 - Sunday March 21
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Tuesday, March 23
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Wednesday, March 31
    April
    Event Date
    Graduation Application Deadline for August Graduates Thursday, April 15
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Monday, April 19
    May
    Event Date
    Reading Day (No Classes) Wednesday, May 5
    Exams Thursday, May 6 - Wednesday, May 12
    End Term Wednesday, May 12
    Residence Halls Close Thursday, May 13, 10:00 a.m.
    Spring Commencement
    Toyota Presents Oakdale Theater (Wallingford, Conn.)
    Saturday, May 15
    Residence Halls close for Commencement participants Sunday, May 16, 7:00 p.m.
    Grades Due Tuesday, May 18
    June
    Event Date
    Graduation Application Deadline for January Graduates Tuesday, June 15
  • Spring I 2021 (Accelerated Terms)
    January
    Event Date
    New and Returning Students from Affected ("Red") States Move-In (Begin 14-day travel advisory quarantine on campus) Sunday, January 17
    Martin Luther King Day (No Classes) Monday, January 18
    New Student Orientation/Registration Tuesday, January 19
    Term Start Wednesday, January 20
    Online Classes Begin for All Students Wednesday, January 20
    Open Drop/Add Deadline Wednesday, January 27
    New and Returning Students from Non-Affected ("Green") States Move-In Sunday, January 31
    February
    Event Date
    On-Ground Classes Begin Wednesday, February 3
    Midterm Grades Due Wednesday, February 10
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Tuesday, February 16
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Thursday, February 18
    March
    Event Date
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Tuesday, March 9
    Exams Wednesday, March 10 - Friday, March 12
    End Term Friday, March 12
    Grades Due Wednesday, March 17
  • Spring II 2021 (Accelerated Terms)
    March
    Event Date
    Term Start Monday, March 15
    Classes Begin Monday, March 15
    Drop/Add Deadline Monday, March 22
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Wednesday, March 31
    April
    Event Date
    Midterm Grades Due Monday, April 12
    Graduation Application Deadline for August Graduates Thursday, April 15
    Re-Charge Day (No Classes) Monday, April 19
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Tuesday, April 20
    May
    Event Date
    Reading Day (No Classes) Wednesday, May 5
    Exams Thursday, May 6 - Wednesday, May 12
    End Term Wednesday, May 12
    Spring Commencement
    Toyota Presents Oakdale Theater (Wallingford, Conn.)
    Saturday, May 15
    Halls close for Commencement participants Sunday, May 16, 7:00 p.m.
    Grades Due Tuesday, May 18
  • Full Summer 2021
    May
    Event Date
    Term Start Thursday, May 13
    Classes Begin Thursday, May 13
    Drop/Add Deadline Thursday, May 20
    Memorial Day Break Saturday, May 29 - Monday, May 31
    July
    Event Date
    Independence Day Break Tuesday, June 29 - Monday, July 5
    Midterm Grades Due Thursday, July 8
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Wednesday, July 14
    August
    Event Date
    Exams Friday, August 6 - Wednesday, August 11
    End Term Thursday, August 12
    Grades Due Monday, August 16
    Administrative Graduation Wednesday, August 18
  • Summer I 2021
    May
    Event Date
    Term Start Saturday, May 15
    Classes Begin Saturday, May 15
    Drop/Add Deadline Monday, May 24
    Memorial Day Break Saturday, May 29-Monday, May 31
    June
    Event Date
    Midterm Grades Due Tuesday, June 8
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Monday, June 14
    Graduation Application Deadline for January Graduates Tuesday, June 15
    Exams Thursday, June 24-Monday, June 28
    End Term Monday, June 28
    July
    Event Date
    Grades Due Friday, July 2
  • Summer II 2021
    July
    Event Date
    Term Start Tuesday, July 6
    Classes Begin Tuesday, July 6
    Drop/Add Deadline Monday, July 12
    Midterm Grades Due Monday, July 26
    August
    Event Date
    Course Withdrawal Deadline Monday, August 2
    Exams Saturday, August 7 - Thursday, August 12
    End Term Thursday, August 12
    Grades Due Monday, August 16
    August Administrative Graduation Wednesday, August 18