Parameters for image-map-2:{}
University of New Haven logo
Parameters for article:{}

Congratulations to the 34 Students Who Participated in Alternative Spring Break!

Release Date:
3/23/2012 4:00 PM
ASB 2012

Rather than leave campus for Spring Break, these exceptional 34 UNH undergraduate students participated in Alternative Spring Break where they stayed in the West Haven and New Haven areas, volunteering at six local organizations.  Five students learned skills such as tiling and caulking while working on two new houses for Habitat for Humanity foundations and four volunteers worked with Integrated Refugee and Immigrant Services (IRIS) helping new immigrants and refugees with job placements, housing, and adjustment to life in the United States.  The Children’s Museum hosted five volunteers who assisted with spring cleaning and book sorting. New Haven Reads raved that they “could not have asked for a better team to contribute to NHR” when reporting back about their ten volunteers.  An additional five students were sent to support Christian Community Action by helping with landscape work and site cleaning.  Our last group of students worked with the Office of Community Service’s new partner, the New Haven Home Recovery. Five students returned each night covered in paint as they helped restore and prepare a house for a family to move in. The University of New Haven thanks these volunteers for their dedication and tireless effort during the week.  Alternative Spring Break would not be possible without these students’ support.  All six organizations have also expressed their deepest gratitude. 


Alejandra Cortez, Alexa Seidenfeld, Alexander LaManna, Alexandra Hart, Allison Demers, Anna-Marie Young, Bo-khier Raybon, Breanna Brown, Cara Dennis, Carmen Paulino, Chibuzo Njoku, Chyvonne Rice, Colin Bassett, Eric Swingle, Isaak Kifle, Ivette Prieto, Jason Segal, Jeffrey Regester, Kaitlynn Kofsuske, Katelyn Rice, Katherine Umsted, Kathryn Kuhr, Kimberly Hernandez, Lauren Fernandez, Lisa Luke, Mackenzie Gordon, Naixtza Rivera, Neil Carney, Nicole Brenan, Pablo Sanchez, Shannon Velasquez, Tannu Singh, Tyler Young, and Vanessa Estime.


(Story & photo submitted by Lisa Savarese, Asst. Director- Office of Student Activities)