Parameters for image-map-2:{}
University of New Haven logo
Parameters for article:{}

New Academic Building Will House Two Classrooms, Math Zone

Release Date:
5/23/2013 12:00 AM

MathZone, Fire Science, 500px

A new academic building is under construction on Pruden Street, north of Echlin Hall.

The 4,800-square-foot building is on the site of the fire science barn damaged last spring by high winds.

The single-story steel and concrete building will be open by fall.  It has two classrooms, a computer lab, conference room, faculty offices and reception area and will be home to the university’s new Math Zone program. The building will also feature fire science laboratory space.

Designed by Christiaan Dinkaloo Architects and constructed by The Pat Munger Construction Company, the building has finished metal panels on the exterior similar to those used on the Beckerman Recreation Center and Soundview Residence Hall.

The University of New Haven is a private, top-tier comprehensive institution recognized as a national leader in experiential education. Founded in 1920 on the campus of Yale University in cooperation with Northeastern University, UNH moved to its current West Haven campus in 1960. The University operates a satellite campus in Tuscany, Italy, and offers programs at several locations throughout Connecticut and in New Mexico. UNH provides its students with a unique combination of a solid liberal arts education and real-world, hands-on career and research opportunities. The University enrolls approximately 6,400 students, including nearly 1,800 graduate students and more than 4,600 undergraduates – the majority of whom reside in University housing. Through its College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice and Forensic Sciences, Tagliatela College of Engineering, and College of Lifelong & eLearning, UNH offers 75 undergraduate and graduate degree programs. UNH students have access to more than 50 study abroad programs worldwide, and its student-athletes compete in 16 varsity sports in the NCAA Division II’s highly competitive Northeast-10 Conference.