Parameters for image-map-2:{}
University of New Haven logo

Faculty Awards

During the 2006-2007 academic year, the university inaugurated a new awards program intended to recognize the excellent contributions that the faculty make to the life of the institution.  The award categories are:

  • Excellence in Teaching with Technology
  • Excellence in Experiential Education
  • Excellence in Teaching, Part-Time Faculty
  • Excellence in Research/Creative Activity
  • Excellence in Service
  • Excellence in Teaching, Full-Time Faculty
  • Excellence in Academic Support by a UNH Staff Member

Each of these awards carries a cash prize of $1,000 along with a commemorative plaque and is bestowed at a dinner event to which all faculty are invited at the end of the spring term. At that event, all official nominees and awardees are recognized.

The award selection committees include a faculty member from each college; the committee for the teaching and experiential education, advising and service awards also include one undergraduate and one graduate student.

2015 Faculty Excellence Award Winners

Excellence in Teaching with Technology:

Patrick McGrady, Ph.D. 

Excellence in Experiential Education:

Chris Haynes, Ph.D.
Political Science

Excellence in Teaching, Part-Time Faculty:

Himadri Samanta, Ph.D.

Excellence in Research and Creative Activity:

Maria-Isabel Carnasciali, Ph.D.
Mechanical Engineering

Excellence in Service by Faculty:

Richard Highfield, Ph.D.

Excellence in Teaching, Full-Time Faculty:

Susanne Murphy

Last Lecturer:

Pauline Schwartz
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering